Day 6 Poem – “The Face of My Past Lover” – Face, Found Poems and Chiasmus

Below is a poem based on lines from 6 famous poets; namely, Emily Dickenson, William Shakespeare, Maya Angelou, Walt Whitman, Rabindranath Tagore and Robert Frost. Words in parenthesis are mine. Shown in photo below is Sappho – perhaps the greatest poet of all time.

PNH353122  Credit: Sappho, 1903 (oil on canvas) by John William Godward (1861-1922) Private Collection/ Photo © Peter Nahum at The Leicester Galleries, London/ The Bridgeman Art Library Nationality / copyright status: English / out of copyright

PNH353122
Credit: Sappho, 1903 (oil on canvas) by John William Godward (1861-1922)
Private Collection/ Photo © Peter Nahum at The Leicester Galleries, London/ The Bridgeman Art Library
Nationality / copyright status: English / out of copyright

The Face Of My Past Lover

I’m nobody! Who are you? Are you nobody, too? (No, I am your forgotten lover, lover forgotten by you.  Look at my face!)

I am (the one) who waited for you, (I) contain all, nothing is lacking. Yet all was lacking if sex was lacking. (Lacking was sex?)

Baubles of stolen kisses, trinkets of borrowed loves, Trunks of secret word, I cry. (I cry in secret when I remember you.)

O mistress of mine, where are you going? O stay and hear, your-true love’s coming. (But you didn’t stay, you left me hanging.)

Day after day, Oh (my love) my life, shall I stand before you face to face. ( I’m glad you’re gone,  what you’ve done, I cannot stand.

The heart can think of no devotion, greater than  being shore to the ocean.  (But since you’re gone, gone too, was my devotion to you.)

(And I’ve found someone to love, and learned to love someone I’ve found other than you.)

11 thoughts on “Day 6 Poem – “The Face of My Past Lover” – Face, Found Poems and Chiasmus

Leave a Reply

